Patient Safety Innovation Awards

3rd Annual Patient Safety Innovation Awards


The Patient Safety Movement is happy to announce the 3rd Annual Patient Safety Innovation Awards. We are calling on patient safety advocates and entrepreneurs to bring forward their proven innovations that will help us reach our goal of ZERO preventable deaths by 2020.

The Patient Safety Innovation Awards are focused on identifying the best innovations that can make the most impact and be easily implemented in hospitals across the world. The innovation can be a new product or the novel use of an existing technology or process.

The Patient Safety Movement Foundation will award three Patient Safety Innovation Awards for process or product innovations that will make significant strides toward eliminating preventable deaths in hospitals across the world. Our goal is to help the winners bring their innovations to scale.

1st Prize: $50,000
2nd Prize: $25,000
3rd Prize: $10,000

Competition Opens: 12:00 PM (PST) on Monday, April 3, 2017
Deadline to Enter: 5:00 PM (PST) on Monday, October 2, 2017

Winners will be selected by the Patient Safety Movement Foundation Board of Directors. Finalists will be notified in November 2017 and the winners will be announced at the World Patient Safety, Science & Technology Summit in early-2018.


2016 Patient Safety Innovation Awards


The second annual Patient Safety Innovation Awards has drawn in many incredible patient safety innovations! We received over 100 submissions from across the world, representing some of the most innovative products and process improvements in patient safety today.

After an intensive process, the Patient Safety Movement Foundation Board of Directors selected three winners. The three prizes were awarded at the 5th Annual World Patient Safety, Science & Technology Summit, on Friday, February 4th, 2017.

Three Winners

1st Prize ($50,000): Matt and Dulie Reavill
ReavillMED – Infusion Inserted Central Lines

  • ReavillMED makes central lines simpler, safer, and quicker to insert. The Infusion Inserted Central Lines Procedure converts a routine IV start in the arm into a long-term PICC (central line) with the simple IV push of fluid in 30 seconds. This eliminates the risks of pneumothorax, guide wire loss, and neck arterial puncture, while almost completely eliminating the risk of infection. With this procedure, current and often more difficult protocols, such as the severe sepsis protocol, can be done in minutes instead of hours, and all done using one needle. Creators Matt and Dulie Reavill stated, “Thank you to the Patient Safety Movement. Thank you for the recognition. It’s an honor to be selected with nine other great technologies we felt were as equally as good. It’s an honor and our responsibility to go on and go carry forward the patient safety movement. The movement started when our father died in 1994 and we’ve been carrying it forward with a solution we think will change the world.”

2nd Prize ($25,000): Jim Broselow
eBroselow – SafeDose Scan

  • The ability to rapidly and safely administer potentially lifesaving and life ending medications to an acutely ill or injured child is one of the greatest challenges for clinicians. Getting the dose, concentration, volume, and dilution correct 100 percent of the time for every drug, weight, and indication would require the around-the-clock presence of a pediatric pharmacist. eBroselow’s SafeDose Scan solves this problem by offering a mobile, offline “virtual pediatric pharmacist” that never makes a mistake, is immune to stress, and fits in the palm of your hand. The technology leverages the universal medication NDC barcode as an access point to eliminate potential math and memorization errors at the point of care. In receiving the award, James Broselow, CEO of eBroselow, said, “Thank you to Joe and his incredible team at the Patient Safety Movement. I’ve never been involved with a group of people who are so like-minded in wanting to accomplish something so meaningful. The biggest reward is just being part of this group.”

3rd Prize ($10,000): Isabelle Desjardins and William Cats-Baril
WISER Systems – SERAS™

  • Every other day someone commits suicide in a hospital, and 12 times as many make non-fatal attempts. SERAS™ is a neural-network-based expert system decision-support tool that replicates the critical thinking of experienced clinicians in weighing risk factors to assess a patient’s risk of suicide in the following 72 hours. The patient completes the tablet-based questionnaire in less than one minute. The process is web-based and enables consistent, systematic, and high-quality assessments across multiple clinical sites and providers. SERAS™ assists non-mental health frontline providers in the evaluation of imminent suicide risk and suggests best-practice interventions. Dr. Isabelle Dejardins, CEO of WISER Systems, noted in receiving the award, “Suicide is a silent killer. It is easy to feel helpless in the face of suicide. Collectively, we can no longer afford to. We believe that suicide is preventable. This award validates our vision and inspires us to continue this journey with more dedication than ever. We are extremely grateful and we are committed to zero by 2020.”

The 10 Finalists

2015 Patient Safety Innovation Awards


Our first annual competition was a huge success! We received over 60 entries from around the world representing the most innovative products and process improvements in patient safety today.

The goal was to receive a wide array of entries from a diverse group of stakeholders. After an intensive process, the Board of the Patient Safety Movement Foundation was pleased to select three winners who received their prizes at the 2016 World Patient Safety, Science and Technology Summit.



Check out what the 2015 Winners have achieved!