The Best Summit Yet

The 5th Annual World Patient Safety, Science & Technology Summit was the best yet! Over 300 international leaders from hospitals, medical and information technology company executives, members of the patient advocacy community, public policy makers and government officials gathered to discuss solutions to the leading challenges that cause preventable patient death in hospitals.

For the first time ever, the Patient Safety Movement held a Pre-Session on CANDOR, the Communication and Optimal Resolution Program.

The 2017 Summit featured keynote addresses from Former Vice President Joe Biden, Former President Bill Clinton. Plenary speakers spoke and panels convened on timely patient safety topics. Patient safety experts, healthcare luminaries, members of the press, elected officials and patient advocates were interspersed across the program.

Summit Closing Video – We Can Do It!



Keynote Speakers

  • President Bill Clinton
    Founder of the Clinton Foundation and 42nd President of the United States
  • Vice President Joe Biden
    47th Vice President of the United States

Featured Speakers

  • Joe Kiani
    Founder, Patient Safety Movement Foundation; Chairman & CEO of Masimo
  • Senator Bob Casey and Mrs. Terese Casey
    United States Senator for Pennsylvania
  • Frans van Houten
    CEO and Chairman, Royal Philips
  • Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt, MP
    Secretary of State for Health
  • Patrick H. Conway, MD, MSc
    Acting Administrator, Deputy Administrator for Innovation and Quality, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
  • Dr. Richard H. Carmona, MD, MPH, FACS
    17th Surgeon General of the United States (2002-2006); Distinguished Professor, University of Arizona
  • Sheldon Whitehouse
    United States Senator for Rhode Island
  • Tamra E. Minnier, RN, MSN, FACHE
    Chief Quality Officer for UPMC, Executive Director, Beckwith Institute

2016 Humanitarian Awards

Humanitarian Awards

Every year the Patient Safety Movement Foundation identifies the most influential advocates in patient safety and honors them with the Humanitarian Award at the annual World Patient Safety, Science and Technology Summit. This award recognizes leaders who have made significant progress in eliminating preventable patient deaths so that we can reach our shared goal of zero by 2020. Congratulations to the 2016 winners!

Dr. Patrick H. Conway, MD, MSc

Dr. Dave Mayer, MD 

Annamarie Saarinen

Dr. Anne de-Wahl Granelli, PhD, MBA

2016 Patient Safety Innovation Awards

Innovation Awards

The 2nd Annual Patient Safety Innovation competition was hugely successful! This year we received over 100 entries from across 16 countries, representing the most innovative product and process improvements in patient safety today.

1st Prize ($50,000): Matt and Dulie Reavill
ReavillMED – Infusion Inserted Central Lines

2nd Prize ($25,000): Jim Broselow
eBroselow – SafeDose Scan

3rd Prize ($10,000): Isabelle Desjardins and William Cats-Baril
WISER Systems – SERAS™



Please view the final agenda linked below.

Video Archive


The entire program was livestreamed to attendees outside of the United States. The video archives are now available to view by following the link below.



Media Coverage

Media Coverage

The following media outlets covered the 5th Annual World Patient Safety, Science & Technology Summit.



Thank you to our sponsors for making this event possible.