Keynote Speaker

  • President Bill Clinton
    Founder and Chairman of the Board, Clinton Foundation and 42nd President of the United States

Featured Speakers

  • Peter J. Pronovost, MD, PhD, FCCM
    Chief Clinical Transformation Officer, University Hospitals
  • Joe Kiani
    Founder & Chairman, Patient Safety Movement Foundation; Founder, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Masimo


  • Nancy Conrad
    Founder & Chairman, Conrad Foundation
  • Teodoro Forcht Dagi, MD, MPH, DMedSc, MBA, FAANS, FACS, FCCM
    General Partner, HLM Venture Partners Distinguished Scholar and Professor at the School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences, Queen’s University Belfast, Northern Ireland Visiting Professor, Harvard Medical School
  • Charles R. Denham, MD
    Chairman, Texas Medical Institute of Technology (TMIT) / Chairman, Global Patient Safety Forum
  • Mark Kassen
    Actor and Filmmaker
  • Edward Kelley, MD, PhD
    Coordinator and Head of Strategic Programmes, Patient Safety, World Health Organization
  • Stephen J. Swensen, MD, MMM, FACR
    Medical Director for Leadership and Organization Development Director for Quality and Associate Dean for Value Professor, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine Rochester, MN
  • Thomas Zeltner, MD
    Special Envoy of the Director General of the World Health Organization (WHO)

Nursing Leadership Panel

  • Charles R. Denham, MD
    Chairman, Texas Medical Institute of Technology (TMIT) / Chairman, Global Patient Safety Forum
  • Lillee Smith Gelinas, MSN, RN, FAAN
    Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer VHA Inc.
  • Linda Groah, RN, MSN, CNOR, CNAA, FAAN
    CEO / Executive Director of the Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN)
  • Julianne Morath, RN, MS, CPPS
    President and Chief Executive Officer, Hospital Quality Institute, California

Neonatal Care Advancements and Current Performance Gap Panel

  • Dr. Anthony Christopher Chang, MD, MBA, MPH
    Medical Director of the CHOC Children’s Heart Institute and the Division Chief of CHOC Children’s Specialists Cardiology
  • Anne de-Wahl Granelli, PhD
    Biomedical Scientist, RDCS(PE)
  • Annamarie Saarinen
    Executive Director, Newborn Foundation
  • Augusto Sola, MD
    Vice President of Medical Affairs for Neonatology, Masimo
  • William Tarnow-Mordi
    Professor of Neonatal Medicine, Westmead Hospital NHMRC Clinical Trials Centre, University of Sydney, Foundation Director, WINNER Centre (Westmead International Network for Neonatal Education and Research)

Challenge 1: Failure to Rescue Panel Discussion

  • Richard Afable, MD, MPH
    President & CEO, St. Joseph Hoag Health, EVP Southern California Region, Providence St. Joseph Health
  • Peter Cox, MB, ChB, DCH, (SA), FFARCS (UK), FRCP (C)
    Professor, Departments of Anaesthesia, Critical Care Medicine and Paediatrics, Clinical Director, Paediatric Intensive Care Unit, Associate Chief, Department of Critical Care Medicine, Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto. Canada
  • Andreas Hoeft, MD, PhD
    Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine, University Hospital Bonn, Germany
  • Michael A.E. Ramsay, MD, FRCA
    Chairman, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Management, Baylor University Medical Center; President, Baylor Scott & White Research Institute
  • Robert K. Stoelting, MD
    President, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
  • Andreas H. Taenzer, MD, MS
    Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Pediatrics, Director, Pediatric Acute Pain Service, Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center Director of the Dartmouth Patient Deterioraton Prediction Laboratory (DP2L)
  • AkkeNeel Talsma, PhD, RN, FAAN
    Assistant Professor, School of Nursing Director, Perioperative Outcomes Initiative, University of Michigan

Challenge 2: Medication Errors Panel Discussion

  • Joshua S. Adler, MD
    Chief Medical Officer, UCSF Medical Center and UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital
  • Richard C. Boothman
    Executive Director of Clinical Safety at the University of Michigan Health System
  • Michael R. Cohen, RPh MS, ScD (hon.), DPS (hon.)
    President, The Institute for Safe Medication Practices
  • David C. Classen, MD, MS
    CMIO, Pascal Metrics Associate Professor of Medicine, The University of Utah Active Consultant in Infectious Diseases, The University of Utah School of Medicine
  • M. Narendra Kini, MD
    President and CEO, Miami Children’s Hospital
  • Nathaniel M. Sims, MD
    Cardiac Anesthesiologist & Physician Advisor to Biomedical Engineering, Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) / Associate Professor of Anesthesia, Harvard Medical School

Challenge 3: Overuse of Red Blood Cell Transfusions Panel Discussion

  • Wael Nabil Fahmey Awada
    Assistant Lecturer, Neurosurgical Anesthesia and ICU / Cairo University Faculty of Medicine
  • Charles R. Denham, MD
    Chairman, Texas Medical Institute of Technology (TMIT) / Chairman, Global Patient Safety Forum
  • Dr. Lawrence T. Goodnough, MD
    Professor of Medicine, Director Transfusion Service, Stanford Medical Center
  • Keith J. Ruskin, MD
    Professor of Anesthesiology and Neurosurgery, Yale University School of Medicine
  • Howard Schapiro, MD, MS
    Chairman and Health Care Service Leader / Department of Anesthesiology / University of Vermont/Fletcher / Allen Health Care
  • Aryeh Shander, MD, FCCM, FCCP
    Clinical Professor of Anesthesiology, Medicine & Surgery, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine
  • John A. Ulatowski, MD, PhD, MBA
    Professor and Chairman, Department of Anesthesiology & Critical Care Medicine Vice President and Executive Medical Director, Johns Hopkins Medicine International