Keynote Speakers

  • President Bill Clinton
    Founder and Chairman of the Board, Clinton Foundation and 42nd President of the United States
  • Vice President Joe Biden
    47th Vice President of the United States

Featured Speakers

  • Joe Kiani
    Founder & Chairman, Patient Safety Movement Foundation; Founder, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Masimo
  • Senator Bob Casey and Mrs. Terese Casey
    United States Senator for Pennsylvania
  • Didier Pittet, MD, MS, CBE
    Professor of Medicine, Hospital Epidemiologist & Director, Infection Control Programme and World Health Organization (WHO) Collaborating Centre on Patient Safety, University of Geneva Hospitals and Faculty of Medicine
  • Frans van Houten
    CEO, Royal Philips
  • Rt. Hon. Jeremy Hunt, MP
    Former Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, Department of Health and Social Care, United Kingdom
  • Patrick H. Conway, MD, MSc
    Acting Administrator, Deputy Administrator for Innovation and Quality, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
  • Richard H. Carmona, MD, MPH, FACS
    17th Surgeon General of the United States (2002-2006); Chief of Health Innovations, Canyon Ranch; Distinguished Professor, University of Arizona
  • Sheldon Whitehouse
    United States Senator for Rhode Island
  • Tamra Minnier, MSN, RN, FACHE
    Chief Quality Officer, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center; Executive Director, The Beckwith Institute
  • Thomas Zeltner, MD
    Special Envoy of the Director General of the World Health Organization (WHO)

Media Panel: The Role of the Media in Achieving Zero Preventable Deaths

  • Jim Messina
    Chief Executive Officer, The Messina Group
  • David Cox
    Health Features Writer, The Guardian
  • Diane Perez, MD
    Medical Journalist, Univision, Galavision, Televisa
  • Elizabeth Cohen
    Senior Medical Correspondent for CNN Health, Medical, & Wellness
  • Jayne O’Donnell
    Healthcare Policy Reporter, USA Today
  • Rebecca Palpant Shimkets, M.S.
    Associate Director, The Rosalynn Carter Fellowships for Mental Health Journalism, The Carter Center Mental Health Program

New Challenge: Venous Thromboembolism (VTE) Panel

  • Mike Durkin, OBE, MBBS, FRCA, FRCP, DSc
    Senior Advisor on Patient Safety Policy and Leadership, Institute of Global Health Innovation, Imperial College London
  • Brandyn Lau, MPH, CPH
    Assistant Professor of Surgery & Health Sciences Informatics, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
  • Michael A.E. Ramsay, MD, FRCA
    Chairman, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Management, Baylor University Medical Center; President, Baylor Scott & White Research Institute
  • Steven J. Barker, PhD, MD
    Chief Science Officer, Masimo Corporation
  • Timothy I. Morgenthaler, MD
    Chief Patient Safety Officer, Mayo Clinic
  • Vonda Vaden Bates
    Patient Advocate for Venous Thromboembolism (VTE)

New Challenge: Pediatric Adverse Drug Events Panel

  • Anne Lyren, MD, MSc
    Clinical Director, Children’s Hospitals’ Solutions for Patient Safety; Strategic Advisor, Quality & Safety; UH Rainbow Babies & Children’s Hospital Associate Professor, Pediatrics & Bioethics, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
  • Christopher S. Jerry
    President & CEO, Emily Jerry Foundation
  • Deborah A. Pasko, PharmD, MHA
    Director of Medication Safety and Quality, American Society of Health System Pharmacists (ASHP)
  • James Broselow, MD, CMO
    Clinical Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine, University of Florida College of Medicine; Developer, Broselow Tape and Color Coding Crash Carts
  • Sun Yang, BPharm, PhD, RPh, BCPPS
    Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice, Chapman University School of Pharmacy

Healthcare Technology Leadership Panel

  • Joe Kiani
    Founder & Chairman, Patient Safety Movement Foundation; Founder, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Masimo
  • M. Michael Shabot, MD, FACS, FCCM, FACMI
    Executive Vice President, System Chief Clinical Officer, Memorial Hermann Health System
  • Omar Ishrak, PhD
    Chief Executive Officer and Chairman, Medtronic
  • Stefan Dräger
    CEO, Drägerwerk AG & Co. KGaA
  • Tore Laerdal, MSc
    Chairman and CEO of Laerdal Medical, Executive Chairman of Laerdal Global Health, and Executive Director of Laerdal Foundation
  • Ciaran Staunton
    Patient Advocate for Healthcare Technology Leadership

Culture of Safety Leadership Panel: The Journey to High Reliability

  • David B. Mayer, MD
    Chief Executive Officer, Patient Safety Movement Foundation; Executive Director, MedStar Institute for Quality and Safety
  • Cathie Furman, MHA, RN
    Executive Faculty Member, Virginia Mason Institute
  • Conrad Müller, MD
    Director, Doctor of Medicine, Klinik Hirslanden
  • Craig Cordola, FACHE, MBA, MHA
    President, Central/West Region, Memorial Hermann Health System
  • Richard Afable, MD, MPH
    President & CEO, St. Joseph Hoag Health, EVP Southern California Region, Providence St. Joseph Health
  • Scott Betzelos, MD, MSA
    Chief Medical Officer, Inova Fairfax Medical Campus; Chief Patient Safety Officer, VP, Inova Health System

New Challenge: Mental Health Panel

  • Heather Huszti, PhD
    Chief Psychologist, CHOC Children’s Hospital
  • Anita Everett, MD
    President-Elect, American Psychiatric Association
  • Darrell Steinberg, Mayor of Sacramento
    Mayor of Sacramento, Former Senate President pro Tem, J.D., Founder, Steinberg Institute
  • Leila Entezam, MBA, LMFT
    Chief Strategy Officer, Patient Valet
  • Monica McAlduff, RPN, BHSc, MA
    Director, Mental Health and Substance Use, Vancouver Coastal Health
  • Paul Saarinen
    Patient Advocate for Mental Health