Lee Fleisher, MD

Professor & Chair of Anesthesiology and Critical Care, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

Chair, American Society of Anesthesiologists Perioperative Brain Health Initiative

Lee A. Fleisher, MD, is the Robert D. Dripps Professor and Chair of Anesthesiology and Critical Care and Professor of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine from which he received the 2016 Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching.  He received his medical degree from the State University of New York at Stony Brook, from which he received the Distinguished Alumni Award in 2011. His research focuses on perioperative cardiovascular risk assessment and reduction, health policy, decision making and measurement of quality of care and has received numerous federal, industry and foundation grants related to these subjects. He is a former-Chair and current member of the Consensus Standards Advisory Committee, co-chair of the Surgery Standing Committee and a Member of the Measures Application Partnership Hospital Workgroup of the National Quality Forum, as well as a former member of the Administrative Board of the Council of Faculty and Academic Specialties of the Association of American Medical Colleges. He is a member of the Medical Advisory Panel for the Technology Evaluation Center of the Blue Cross/Blue Shield Association and the Task Force on Practice Guidelines for the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association.  In 2007, he was elected to membership of the National Academy of Medicine (formerly Institute of Medicine) of the National Academy of Sciences and serves on Committees of the NAM.  He is on the Planning Committee and speaker at the 2018 NAM meeting on Building the Evidence Base for Improving Health Care: Contributions, opportunities and priorities.